» Honors Northeast
  » In The News
  » Advantages
  » Application
  » Benefactors
  » Calendar
  » Contact Us
  » Curriculum
  » Director
  » Films
  » Gallery
  » Governing Documents
  » Graduation Requirements
  » Honors Commitee
  » Honors Professors
  » Honors Scholars
  » Mission Statement
  » Poetry Contests
  » Newsletters
  » Poster Contests
  » Presidential Scholars
  » Prize Winning Essays
  » University Transfers
  » Webb Society





  The NTCC Honors Program exists because the residents of Northeast Texas want to reward the area's best students and promote a dynamic of success.

Ms. Elizabeth Whatley, a leading philanthropist of NTCC, helped initiate the program in the spring of 2007 with a $50,000-dollar gift.   Subsequently the mission to promote exemplary and free education for the area's top students has received much additional support.  We have purchased twelve high-end laptops thanks to the generous contributions of leading benefactors.

We also thank all  the  patrons of our honors program who have given sizable gifts to other funds, or have donated their time and talents.   Mr. Michael Whitney and Elliott Chrysler Dodge, Guaranty Bond Bank, The McGraw-Hill Companies, represented by Lisa A. Keys, have also given generously and repeatedly.  Along with Dr. Archer, Vice President. Ron Clinton, Professor Nancy Wilson, and Dr. Mary Hearron of NTCC have given monetary donations.  Finally we thank all other contributors who have given many times so unexpectedly and readily of their time, money and resources:  Mr. Brian Niblett of American National Bank, Mr. B Gooding of Cypress Bank,  Lowe’s, Robert LeMaskus of Applebees, Professor Chuck Hamilton, Professor Jim Swann, Professor Tom Lynch, Professor Anna Elliott, Librarian Ron Bowden, Director of Student Development--Dr. Robert Harper, and Lori Rigney, Director of the Mount Pleasant Library. 


Your gifts have had a trenchant impact!

Elizabeth Whatley of Longview provided NTCC Honors with an inital $50,000 to help initiate the program in 2007.  Presidential Scholar Jacob Brantley (left), representing the fifth class of NTCC Honors, and Presidential Scholar Hannah Kingston (right) helped thank Mrs. Whatley for her formative help at a dinner in her honor in Longview in November of 2011.

Mr. Joe Bernat, shown left, and his wife, Marjorie  embody the spirit that has enabled NTCC honors to become a "shining model," for honors programs, according to the President of the Great Plains Honors Council, Dr. Brad Gambill.  The Bernats have made it possible for NTCC Honors to purchase five high-end laptops, they funded the fall of 2009 trip to Houston, and other programs designed to enhance the transferability of NTCC's Presidential Scholars.  Joe Bernat is shown above with students whose laptops they have funded, Clara Ramirez, and Alexander Villalobos.  The Bernats have also been major patrons of Northeast Texas Community College.

Dr. Jim and Paula Archer have made and enabled major contributions to the NTCC Honors Social Fund, in one case, through Paula procuring a matching grant as a manager at IBM.  Each Fall they have sponsored an Honors Roundup at their lovely 300-acre Lone Star Company Ranch, and have financed honors dinners, and trips to Dallas and Shreveport.  They have helped students in many other ways, including accompanying three honors students to the American Chemical Society Meeting in Salt Lake City in 2009.

American National Bank, the pioneer benefactor of NTCC Honors Laptop Initiative, has funded laptops thusfar for three Presidential Scholars.  Shown here with ANB's Senior Vice President, Ernie McAnally, are two recipients of these gifts, Maria Chavez (left) and Samantha Johnson.

Manager Jim Vincent representing Walmart's gift of a MacBook to Jilian Parton.  Longterm Walmart manager, Barbara Newman, also remains an ongoing friend of NTCC Honors,and Walmart now has furnished two laptops for NTCC Presidential Scholars.

Cypress Bank President, Mr. Gary Bicknell handed a $1,100-dollar check for a MacBook Laptop to Monica Paredes on 31 July 2008, and has provided strong moral support for her achievements, most notably her acceptance to present work at the 2009 National Collegiate Honors Council Meeting in Washington, D.C.   Cypress Bank also provided Presidential Scholar, Shelby Parker a Macbook in the fall of 2009.

First Federal Community Bank afforded a MacBook for NTCC Honors in the summer of 2009.  Vice President Jerry Myers (above) is shown here  with Audrey Myers (no relation).  The Mount Pleasant branch of this Paris-based bank has had a growing presence in the area.

Karen Harmon (left) of Mount Pleasant, shown here with her husband Jim on the right, has helped sponsor Presidential Scholar, Alexander Villalobos, a native of Peru, and has given generously into the general social fund of NTCC Honors.


Cindy Hess of Hess Furniture, Mount Pleasant (right) provided Presidential Scholar, Julia Sky Horton with a Scholarship, 21 August, 2008.

Hits: 5184 |
This page last updated by A. Yox on 05/07/2015

Northeast Texas Community College is an equal opportunity, affirmative action, ADA institution.


Accreditation | Disclaimer | Emergency Preparedness Information Hot Careers in Texas | Human Resources | Privacy Statement |
Online Institutional Resumes | State of Texas Online | Statewide Search | Texas Homeland Security | State link policy
Northeast Texas Community College is an equal opportunity, affirmative action, ADA institution.
Copyright © 2014 - NTCC - All Rights Reserved