Category Archives: NTCC Honors

Northeast Texas Poetry Reading scheduled for Sept. 5

Maryna Otero

How can one best answer that enduring question: where are you from? How is Northeast Texas unique?  Does where we live even matter? These and other questions will be at stake at the Seventh Annual Northeast Texas Poetry Reading on Friday, Sept. 5 at 11 a.m. in the foyer of the Whatley Center for the Performing

Webb chapter Northeast earns best-in-state honorary cords

Webb Graduates

The Northeast Texas Webb Chapter, part of the collegiate student auxiliary of the Texas State Historical Association, earned special gold-red-black cords for graduation this spring.  They were the only chapter in the state that won both a Caldwell Group Award, and a Chapter Award in the last two years. Shown from left to right are: Matthew

Poster Contest winners announced

poster contest 2014

John Updike once noted that anyone seriously interested in doing something better or right will be creative.  On the morning of May 2, while some students were studying for finals, 20 students gathered to compete in the Seventh Annual McGraw-Hill Poster Contest. The event was held at the Whatley Center for the Performing Arts. Their object was to

Two students win prestigious Jack Kent Cooke scholarship

jkc 2014

Northeast Texas Community College students Matthew Jordan of Pittsburg and Stephen Milburn of Mount Pleasant were recently awarded Jack Kent Cooke Foundation Undergraduate Transfer Scholarships. This prestigious award covers up to $30,000 annually at the university of the student’s choice for up to three years. Only 85 students were selected from more than 3,500 applicants for this national honor.  

Freshman Kayleah Cumpian earns numerous honors

kayleah cumpian

At a time when Northeast Texas Community College sophomore Presidential Scholars have been winning unprecedented prizes, Kayleah Cumpian of the freshman class has registered an unmatched series of wins as well. Cumpian has recently applied for and won a scholarship to attend a workshop at Duke University entitled “Applications of Mathematics to Physiology and Medicine.” 

NTCC Webb Society earns Chapter of the Year Award

The Chapter Award copy

The Northeast Texas Community College Webb Society, a student chapter of the Texas State Historical Association, won its first Chapter of the Year Award on March 8 in San Antonio.  Webb Society members Ana Martinez, Tyler Reynolds and Kayleah Cumpian are pictured receiving the award in San Antonio. The state leaders of the Webb Society cited

Two NTCC Honors students win Caldwell essay awards

caldwell winners 14

Northeast Texas Community College Honors students, Elyse Coleman of Gilmer and Kayleah Cumpian of Mount Pleasant, swept two of the four 2014 Caldwell essay awards given annually by the Webb division of the Texas State Historical Association (for freshmen and sophomores in the colleges and universities of Texas). Both wrote papers that were also deemed

Noah Griffin and Matthew Jordan receive Guistwhite Scholarships

noah and matthew

Northeast Texas Community College was the only community college in the nation to have two students selected as 2014 Phi Theta Kappa Guistwhite Scholarship recipients. Noah Griffin and Matthew Jordan, both of Pittsburg, were among the 20 students who received the honor this year. They will be recognized and invited to a special reception during Phi Theta

NTCC Webb Society presents new film about Wright Patman

honors movie 1

Charles Shafer, in his memoir of life in Northeast Texas, noted that when he was young, Congressman Wright Patman seemed to speak to local residents with the voice of God—and he “appeared about as old.”  Patman represented Northeast Texas in Washington D.C. from 1929 to 1976, and is commemorated today by the Bowie and Cass

Matthew Jordan elected to GPHC Executive Council

matthew jordan

The annual October vote of the members of the Great Plains Honors Council (GPHC), an association of 80 honors colleges and programs, recently confirmed Matthew Jordan, a Presidential Scholar at Northeast Texas Community College, as the 2013-2014 Student Representative of its Executive Council. Jordan, the 2012 Salutatorian of Pittsburg High School, will become the highest ranking student