NTCC Faculty Senate hosts annual Student Awards Ceremony

award winners
The Northeast Texas Community College Faculty Senate recently held its 24th annual Student Awards Ceremony. Each year, faculty nominate their best students to receive awards for their hard work and achievements throughout the school year.
In addition to current students, the Faculty Senate also selects former students to receive the Alumni of the Year award. This year 10 alumni were acknowledged for their achievements: James Rogers, John D. Herron, Sebastian Barron, Teresa Flores, Lauren Fennimore, Jean Carrell, Thomesena Hurst, Amanda Massey, Mandy Vaden, and Maria Chavez Medina. Rogers spoke on behalf of the alumni.
The Horizon Award is presented to those students who have significantly contributed their time and energy to NTCC and/or the community. Horizon Award winners were: William Jones, Angelica Fuentes, Bree McAdams, Brody Barnes, Alyssa Vega, Mary Smith, Elizabeth Griffin, Isaac Burris, Latasha Triplett, Trace Lewis, Ryan-Rose Mendoza, Anthony Sterling, Michael Brown, Hannah Isleem, Dylan McConnell, Katherine Edwards and Melody Mott. 
The President’s Award goes to those students who have excelled academically and are considered a top student by their instructors. The President’s Award recipients were: Kassandra Martinez, Jessica Velasquez, Rigoberto Villa, Justin Turner, Elliott Huskey, Lauren Pence, Stormi Waddell, Angelica Fuentes, Morgan Capps, Ryan-Rose Mendoza, Weston Hooper, Elizabeth Griffin, Mayte Tejeda, Jeffery Wilson, Tanika Santos-McSwain, Hannah Dickson, Karen Ortega Serrano, Gabriela Quezada, William Jones, Necah Posey, Jessica Velasquez, Guy Stilwell, Lisa Law and Jaime Luis Flores. 
The Spirit of Northeast Award recognizes students who have made full use of their college experience to maximize their academic potential. Spirit of Northeast winners were: Melody Mott, Terry Dawson, April Reed, Jacob Smith, Jean Hamrick, Sadie Davis, Tiler Hall, Alyssa Vega, Drew Rogers, Lindley Craven, Cassia Rose, Taite McBee, Alexandra Hendrix, Cole Sullivan, Katherine Williams, Brilie Cummings, Andres Ruiz, Necah Posey, Kevin Wright, Brandon Pettey, Lisa Law, Isaac Burris and Sherry De La Cruz. 
NTCC students who were selected to the national Who’s Who Among Students in American Universities and Colleges were also acknowledged. They were: Miguel Buendia, Makomborero Tembo, Maria Torres, Jaden Green, Trace Lewis, Nathan Johnson, Brianna Stacks, Steven Vaught, Jessica Velazquez, Gabriela Quezada, Cailee Davidson, William Jones, Presley McClendon, Ryan-Rose Mendoza, Melody Mott, Genesis Quezada Orellana, Emmalea Shaw, Elizabeth Griffin, Scott Wilhite, Mary Smith, Tiler Hall, Angelica Fuentes, Morgan Capps, Isaac Burris, Cassia Rose, Rebekah Hall, Hector Zuniga, Efrain Garcia, Noel Moreno, Drew Rogers, and Louis Hall. 
The Faculty Senate also presented their annual scholarship. This is awarded to outstanding sophomore students and funded through individual donations from faculty members. This year’s recipients were Owen Usher, Maria Ramirez and Marissa Maiwelmal. 
A handful of other Special Awards were given to honor various achievements throughout the year.