To apply for the License to Carry permit, The Texas Department of Public Safety currently requires applicants to complete a minimum of 4 to 6 classroom hours as well as pass a written examination and a shooting proficiency demonstration.
Applicants will become familiar with the laws pertaining to having a License to Carry permit and focuses on the responsibilities of being a gun owner. Safety, proper storage, non violent dispute resolution, and the laws that relate to weapon use will also be covered.
Students need to arrive with their handgun unloaded and the safety on. They will also need to provide 100 rounds of approved handgun ammunition of 380 caliber or larger (no reloads or rifle caliber ammunition), plus eye and ear protection. NO LOADED WEAPONS OR MAGAZINES PERMITEED ON CAMPUS. Students need to dress comfortably with closed toe shoes and a ball cap, and a valid driver’s license.
Taking the course is required to apply for the Texas License to Carry permit. The DPS online application at https://www.dps.texas.gov/ requires an additional $40 fee, plus fingerprinting. Applicants do not have to complete DPS online application before the course.
Additional cost: $140 (DPS online application)
Dates: March 23, 2019
Days -Time: Saturday 8:00am - 4:00pm
Campus: Location: Main Campus
Seats Available: 0/16 seats purchased
Last Day to Register: March 13, 2019
Instructor: Ken Colbey
For more information or to register contact: 903-434-8134 or email firstname.lastname@example.org :