Four NTCC students named Leaders of Promise

leaders of promise pictured together

Four students at Northeast Texas Community College were among the 207 Phi Theta Kappa members named as 2020 Coca-Cola Leaders of Promise Scholars and will each receive a $1,000 scholarship.  

The NTCC students receiving this honor include Carolina Alcocer-Salas, of Chapel Hill, Hannah Barnes of Marietta, Jaidyn Thompson of Daingerfield, and Maritza Quinones of Mount Pleasant.

Carolina Alcocer-Salas is the incoming president of the Alpha Mu Chi chapter of Phi Theta Kappa, as well as an incoming Honors Scholar. Carolina earned membership in Phi Theta Kappa as a result of excellent grades in her dual credit courses. This fall will be her first semester as a full-time college student. Barnes, Quinones, and Thompson are entering their second year at NTCC this fall.

The Coca-Cola Leaders of Promise Scholarship Program helps new Phi Theta Kappa members defray educational expenses while enrolled in associate degree programs. Scholars are encouraged to assume leadership roles by participating in Society programs and are selected based on scholastic achievement, community service, and leadership potential. Nearly 900 applications were received.  

A total of $207,000 is awarded through the Leaders of Promise Scholarship Program. The Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation provides $200,000 in funding for the scholarships. 

“The Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation has a long history of providing financial assistance to outstanding students at community colleges,” said Jane Hale Hopkins, President of the Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation. “We are proud to partner with Phi Theta Kappa, make it possible for more deserving students to achieve their educational goals, and support tomorrow’s leaders of the global community.”  

The funds provided by the Coca-Cola Scholars Foundation not only aid college completion, but also give students the opportunity to engage in Society programs and develop leadership skills to become future leaders in their communities.  

“Research shows that Phi Theta Kappa members are four times more likely to complete a college degree than their peers,” said Dr. Monica Marlowe, Executive Director of the Phi Theta Kappa Foundation. “The Leaders of Promise Scholarships recognize students for what they have achieved already and assure that financial need isn’t an obstacle to achieving their academic goals.”

Phi Theta Kappa is the premier honor society recognizing the academic achievement of students at associate degree-granting colleges and helping them to grow as scholars and leaders. The Society is made up of more than 3.5 million members and nearly 1,300 chapters in 11 nations. Learn more at

With the four winners this year, NTCC students have won 23 Leaders of Promise scholarships. Previous winners include (2019) Daniel Landaverde, Jacqueline Fouche’, Zachary Davidson, Courtney Baldwin, (2018) Jordan Whelchel, Keli Rymer, Hannah Fouche’, Madison Blood, Brynden Andrews, Rhylie Anderson, (2017) Cassidy Watkins, Rachel Jordan, Alicia Cantrell, (2016) Ryan-Rose Mendoza, Dylan McConnell, (2015) Morgan Capps, (2014) Tyler Reynolds, Kelli Knepp, and (2013) Noah Griffin.

To learn more about the Phi Theta Kappa chapter at NTCC, email or advisors Dr. Matthew Lampert at, Dr. Melissa Fulgham at, or Andrea Reyes at