Phi Theta Kappa wins big at Texas Regional Convention

group at convention

Northeast Texas Community College’s chapter of Phi Theta Kappa, Alpha Mu Chi, recently attended the Texas Regional Convention in Abilene and returned with 20 awards. The chapter successfully campaigned for the Texas Region District III President position. This is an unprecedented feat for the chapter and college that will allow an elected representative to take part in leadership training, public speaking opportunities, and travel throughout the state.  

Alpha Mu Chi maintained their five-star status and was recognized Texas Top Chapter, which indicates they are one of the top 18 chapters in the Texas Region that have participated in both the Honors in Action and College Projects. The chapter also earned the Honors in Action Award of Distinction for Theme 3, granting them eligibility to win the overall Honors in Action Award of Distinction.  This is only awarded to the top two Honors in Action Projects submitted in connection with any theme in the entire state of Texas.  This year's project focused on breaking stigmas associated with mental health and identity through Outside the Lines: A Show About Art, Mental Health, and Identity held in October last year. 

Cindy Hammonds, who is not a member or advisor, was awarded an Outstanding Friend of Texas for exceptional service to Alpha Mu Chi.  


“Her creativity and willingness to go above and beyond makes her a friend of the chapter, and thus a Friend of Texas,” said Dr. Melissa Fulgham, Alpha Mu Chi Lead Advisor.   

Awards received by the chapter include: Texas Top Chapter, Honors in Action Award of Distinction, Honors in Action Award of Distinction Theme 3, College Project Award of Merit, Five Star Chapter, Honors in Action and College Project participation award, Outstanding Friend of Texas (Cindy Hammonds), Texas Regional Hall of Honor for Outstanding Officers (Rebecca Collins and Tonya Hammonds), Texas Regional Hall of Honor for Outstanding Members (James Howell), Texas Regional Hall of Honor for Alumni (Isaac Burris and Andrea Reyes), District III Hall of Honor (Rebecca Collins, Brent Garrett, Halley Goodwin, Tranequea Hammons, James Howell, Katelyn Kimbrough, Daniel Landaverde, and Andrea Reyes).

Founded in 1918, Phi Theta Kappa is a selective, international honor society that recognizes academic achievement of two-year college students and provides opportunities for them to grow as scholars and leaders.  

Anyone interested in finding out more about PTK at NTCC can email or check out