Medical Coding

The Medical Coding Specialist Level 1 Certificate program is designed to prepare competent coding specialists to be responsible for correctly coding healthcare claims to obtain reimbursement from insurance companies. Medical Coding Specialists work in hospitals, clinics, and physician offices and use specialized medical classification software to assign procedure and diagnosis codes for insurance billing. Coders also review claims data to ensure that assigned codes meet required legal and insurance rules and that required signatures and authorizations are in place prior to submission. Qualified medical coders can earn the Certified Coding Associate (CCA), Certified Coding Specialist (CCS), or the Certified Coding Specialist – Physician Based (CCS-P) credentials through the American Health Information Management Association (AHiMA), These credentials are the only coding credential, world-wide, currently accredited by the National Commission for Certifying Agencies (NCCA).

The Medical Coding Specialist program is three semesters, beginning each Fall with completion in August, in a 100% online delivery format. There is no formal application process for the program at this time, however, application to Northeast and placement testing via TSI is required before students may register for the program classes.

Spring 2018 Information Session Schedule for Medical Coding, Medical Assisting, and Healthcare Management:

Monday, Feb. 12, 6:30pm-7:30pm 
Friday Feb 23, 9:00am- 10:00am
Thursday, Mar. 29, 6:30pm– 7:30pm 
Tuesday, April 10, 6:30pm-7:30pm
Friday, April 13, 9:00am –10:00am 

All information sessions will be held at our Main Campus in UHS 245.